Sunday, April 28, 2013

Joe, H. D. Gordon

BLURB---From the author of The Alexa Montgomery Saga comes a story that will take you into the mind of a genuine psychopath, the lives of six ordinary people, and the world of a very special girl named Joe. Joe is seemingly an ordinary college student. She works, studies and reads. But, in between these activities, Joe has a gift that promises to add a dose of color into her life at any given moment. Joe sees things before they happen. Bad things, and the worst thing she has ever faced is just around the corner. Someone is planning a massacre at the college university that Joe attends, and the only person with a hope of stopping the psychopath is her. Oh, the beauty of foresight. More like a curse. Joe has four days to figure out the mystery, make plans to take down the psycho, and save the lives of people. People like you and me. Ordinary people.

Well Wowee.....This had to be a 5* really. I'm a bit dumbfounded right now to be honest. So clever! I was not expecting that. 
Brave bold writing, you can't not respect it., where to begin?!?!?! Okay so. I'll start with a basic plot. 
We meet Joe, very likable but in no way a people person, she has a very prominent stutter which makes her shy away from talking to people. 
She has no problem with this though as she's not fond of it anyway. Joe also has a clairvoyance gift I knowit's not the most realistic thing to read, but damnnnn it really was just done so good. Joe foresees a shooting at her university she tries to find out more and attempts to stop it. Off we go on our adventure!!

The book has 8 pov's 8 P.O.V'S! WHAT THE ACTUAL EFF PEOPLE , but for me it really worked. I never would have believed it in a million years but each character was so strong that I did remember each one once it got going.

It's kinda like movies like Crash and 11:14? All different perspectives revolving around one thing and the people being unaware of their connections to each other.
I think I loved the POV business so much because it stopped the book just being another 'heroine saves the day' or 'let's delve into the mind of a psychotic' we get to meet a single mum trying to work out whats best for her kids, a girl dealing with depression feeling like life can't get worse, a teacher on the verge of retirement and others too. All the time this is going on we know what danger they are in whilst they are innocently planning their lives. So it kept this 6th sense creepy story very human. 

Joe- I love characters like her. Characters who you have absolutely nothing in common with but can still empathize with, characters who are so strong they give you no option other than to think about them and try and understand them. We learn so much about Joe; her past with her (awful) parents, the history of her gift and she also goes on a really sweet little personal development too! Oh I'm falling more and more in love with it. 
She doesn't think too highly of herself, she just sees herself as a freak. She thinks she is only acting on her vision things through obligation and to prevent herself from feeling guilty. She's a lovely lovely character. 

I loved the other characters too, especially Michael. 

The writing!! And the structure!! Ooooh I was in heaven at the last 20%
The writing of the POV changes was just complete genius at the end. It was run-on sentences. I've never put quotes in a review before but I'm going to here so you can see what I mean.

a feeling that gave him the impression of walking on air, a feeling that
was unmistakable and familiar and horrible.


All of them, with their fucking routine and boring and worthless lives had decided to
Take her lunch outside this afternoon. It was such a lovely day

This bit of the book was just THE SHIT. The tension was amazing. I don't want to talk too much about the story though and the ins and outs of it all. Even if you read it and hate the story, this part of the book is just going to demand that you respect it and the skill taken to craft such a thing.

Another thing about the writing was it was that style of writing that I absolutely love but so often find it's been done wrong so it drives me crazy. Do you know what I mean? Like internal voices playing devil's advocate in italics, repeating phrases to build tension and that kind of thing. It was done so well I just loved it. 

If you're a fan of mystery/thrillers, want something compleeeeetely different, strong characters and a busy book that demands attention. I really recommend this one. It's so clever I have HUGE respect for this book.

Although...I must say....I have a feeling it may well be a love it or hate it kind of book. So don't shout at me if you don't like it!!

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Mafia Captive, Kitty Thomas

Buy From Smashwords          Buy From Barnes & Noble

BLURB----Faith Jacobson was in the wrong place at the wrong time. After witnessing a mob hit, she’s only moments from death when Angelo Raspallo decides to give his brother an unlikely gift.
Leo has avoided involvement with the family business, but it doesn’t make him a saint. He’s troubled and ashamed by his darker sexual desires, one of which is to own a slave. But when his brother throws Faith at his feet, repainting the scenario to make Leo the hero rescuing her from certain death, his moral fortitude will be tested. If Faith were kinky, it would be easy to live out his fantasy, but she’s not. Not even a little bit. Even the mildest spanking sparks terror in her that Leo can’t bear.
The gift soon becomes a burden as he fights with himself over how to handle the addition to his home. He could release her, but his brother doesn’t do loose ends. The only thing keeping her out of the bottom of the harbor is Leo’s mercy. She’s like a beautiful piece of art he keeps in a glass case but can never touch. Is possessing her enough?
This is a work of fiction, and the author does not endorse or condone any of this book’s content in a real world setting. This work is intended for an emotionally mature, adult audience. Do not try this at home.

This was different to what I thought it would be, not as brutal or sex based as I expected but more of a character exploration. Expect a fantastic psychological journey not hard-core erotica.

Faith witnesses a murder, some kind of mob hit. The murderer (Angelo) is about to kill Faith because of what she has witnessed when he notices she could have another use for his brother. 
Leo has always wanted a slave but isn't willing to do it, since Angelo has given him the option 'take her or she dies' Leo decides he has not choice but to take her with him.

Leo still doesn't have it in him to force Faith into being a slave- he wants a submissive masochist but because she isn't he attempts to let her simply live in the house with him. This works for a while but Faith is sort of in a state of mourning because she will never have a life outside of the house and Leo, she then decides to try and make some sort of relationship with Leo.

Watching Leo struggle with his self-control was refreshing. I don't think I have come across a man like him. A man who has his ultimate desire handed to him on a plate not take full advantage of it because he doesn't want to feel like a monster.

It was great to see them both struggle, Leo struggling with his shame of his desires and Faith struggling with her shame for considering them.

Faith probably looks weak but I don't think she is, she has accepted what has happened and what started out as a revulsion and fear started to change once she realized her life would be empty. She didn't really have much choice other than to try and make her life with Leo some form of relationship and she made the decision that if Leo needed the kink and submission- then this is what she has to do so for her to have someone in her life.

Leo- although not forcing Faith to do anything was who he was and made no attempts to change really. He treated her very well but he was not going to compromise his desires. Such a guy....take it or leave it kind of attitude. He was lovely though!

I loved the relationship between the two brothers, and the big Italian family was really fun to read. All of them! Mafia mum, arrogant brother and all the other crazies, it was just fun and interesting.

I loved the little details that let us learn about Leo, like his dog! This big mafia kinky guy loves his doggy.... awwwww. BUT he's not above murdering if you mess with his family! 

If you like non-con/dub-con BDSM reads or like watching characters battling inner turmoil, this is a great read

Friday, April 19, 2013

The Girl In 6E, Alessandra Torre

BLURB----I screw men for money. Not literally, think phone sex operator with a 15 megapixel web cam thrown in. They tell me their deepest, darkest fantasies while paying me $6.99 a minute. 

What would possess me to engage in such a business? Throw in a tortured past, inner demons, and a desire to keep the innocent people of my small town safe. 

I was contained, out of the way, sex-camming my way to utter obscurity until HE came along. A twisted client armed with a target’s name. Annie. And in that name, everything changed.

This is what I want to read!!!!!

I LOVE the writing!!

I LOVE the plot!!

I LOVE the charcters!!

Excited review now!!!! Weeeeee!!!!!!!

This is a dark and twisted book, very creative and unique as well. 

I don't want to give away too much of the plot though because I think this is a great book to go in knowing nothing about but I'll do a basic version without specifics.....

Deanna (also known as Jess) had a big trauma which gave her the desire to kill, she spends a lot of her time fantasizing about murder and craves an opportunity. She becomes disturbed by a particular client and decides to find out more about him and of course we have little Annie.

Deanna/Jess has locked herself away from the world. She fears she is a danger to society due to her obsession with wanting to kill people. 
She earns a living as a sex-cam girl.....y'know the internet webcam sex stuff and she is goooood 

I loved this aspect it was incredibly clever because throughout her sex-cam times we learn so much about her and what could be a character who you can't bear because she is obsessed with the idea of murdering- and don't misunderstand me- the girl wants to make people suffer is actually a character who appears more odd and strange than evil. 
We come across a lot of fetishes and her reactions to each leaves a great impression of who she is. So we find out what makes her feel guilty, what worries her, what she likes and what scares her. So this wannabe murderer is actually disgusted by certain things and takes matters into her own hands when she thinks people are at risk. See? She's not so bad.
I thought it was a genius way to explore her character.

I think the best way to treat the whole Annie situation is to see it as a character development for Deanna, it's not the driving force behind the book so much as a great way to progress her journey. Otherwise it seems to move to quickly to be such a big part of the plot but once I treated it as a thing for Deanna, it was great.

I loved loved loved her character, very emotionally cold and clinical in that extremely graphic and vulgar but unaffected way that makes a character fascinating. 

I loved the fact the chapters were so short and snappy, you won't get bored and nothing drags at all. IT'S AWESOME, it was perfect for what it was. A fast paced suspenseful read which moves 100 million miles an hour.

The multiple POV's was good too, it was great seeing things from another characters perspective. I loooooved the writing. This was one of those books for me that I was destined to love, I can take my pick whether it was the plot or characters that made me love it. Everything was brilliant for me.

It was an awesome read, if you are a fan of fast paced mystery and suspense and want sexy sexiness too this one is great! I want more books like this!!!!

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Wanderlust, Skye Warren

BLURB----Evie always dreamed of seeing the world, but her first night at a motel turns into a nightmare. Hunter is a rugged trucker willing to do anything to keep her—including kidnapping. As they cross the country in his rig, Evie plots her escape, but she may find what she's been looking for right beside her.

Wanderlust is a dark erotic novel which explores dubious consent, captivity, and power play. Please do not read this if you're uncomfortable with the subject matter or under 18 years of age

Not what I expected at all!!

I expected your average non-con "I've been kidnapped but I like it!!" And that's about it. But there was soooooo much more to it. In fact it's not like that at all, I loved the writing style too, that poetic beautiful style. It was completely different to what I thought, the blurb made me think it would be a good but y'know expected kidnapping read. NOOOOO so good!!!!

Evie is a very sheltered naive girl who after being abused as a child is over-protected by her mother. Her mother feels guilty as the abuser was a boyfriend of hers, so this helps explain her over-bearing behaviour. She taught Evie that all men were monsters and something bad will happen to her is she ever leaves but she eventually does leave and her mothers fears quickly become true, repeatedly actually.

Hunter- huh, I like him! I get him too, I hugely disagree with him but I get the bitterness inside him. Hunter has a story but I won't spoil it for you.

One thing I loved about this book is it's probably the first time I've ever believed someone would react this way. Evie has no prior knowledge of men and relationships. So I suppose this eagerness to be wanted was believable. If you accept things will move quickly purely because it's not a long book, it is paced brilliantly. 

I LOVED THAT SHE KEPT TRYING TO ESCAPE!!! Oh my god, finally! Someone who feels torn because she doesn't hate the guy but is aware enough to know it's purely self-preservation to accept and find the small graces and realize are not actually a good enough thing to stay with him hoping to find love. 

She also doesn't love pain! I loved that too! How annoying is that when you read a book and the woman goes ooooooh this is what was missing from my life! A bossy man who ties me up! Now I'm complete!! Hunter isn't about pain or dominance either which was again refreshing. Now we have a complex guy who has actual reasons for the things he does and has real feelings that make sense. No BDSM here people just pure psychological disturbances.

This book really truly surprised me in that it was all a mind melt, I loved these characters. So much more psychological than expected.

This is about Evie and Hunter. Both broken but fixing each other, I can't believe I'm finding it cute but I am. Hunter is awful in the beginning but he does grow and become a wonderful man. To my twisted brain anyway, haha. 

I would say this was dark and disturbing.....and it kind of was but for me, when it counts, it's a seriously sweet emotional book. I really truly wasn't expecting a book like this. Maybe other people will find it darker than me I may just be the odd one out. 

If you're in the mood for a dark romance that has surprising amounts of depth that is written very well, try this one!!!

Monday, April 15, 2013

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn

BLURB------Marriage can be a real killer. 
   One of the most critically acclaimed suspense writers of our time, New York Times bestseller Gillian Flynn takes that statement to its darkest place in this unputdownable masterpiece about a marriage gone terribly, terribly wrong. The Chicago Tribune proclaimed that her work “draws you in and keeps you reading with the force of a pure but nasty addiction.” Gone Girl’s toxic mix of sharp-edged wit and deliciously chilling prose creates a nerve-fraying thriller that confounds you at every turn. 
   On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer? 
   As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister, Margo, at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?
   With her razor-sharp writing and trademark psychological insight, Gillian Flynn delivers a fast-paced, devilishly dark, and ingeniously plotted thriller that confirms her status as one of the hottest writers around.

It's been so long since I read this book, I still think about it though. So I suppose I should try and write a review.

Absolutely loved it! Madly Deeply Crazy in love with this book, I remember reading then phoning my mum telling her how mad I was at certain characters because I couldn't keep it to myself.
Anyone else do that? Like NEED to tell someone about what you've just read that second? I was a mad woman with this book. 

There is so much I want to say but it could potentially spoil so I won't. I'll keep it to a minimum....

The story follows Nick and Amy Dunne, Amy has gone missing. We see Nick in present time and how he's coping, we also get to see Amy's diaries from her time before she disappeared. Then after a while we catch up with Amy and see how she's managing after her disappearance. And everything kicks off!!!

It's so fast paced and an amazingly fun unique read. 
But also it actually highlights genuine problems that people have in relationships. The feeling that you don't know each other at all. It's quite a frightening picture really.
You kinda read it and go Oh my god....We've done that.
Not necessarily the exact things but a lot of the relationship dynamics are definitely relatable. 

Heavy and dark, yet fun and easy to read. Ludicrous and ridiculous yet somewhat a really unbelievably crazy way.
Mind-melt though! 

If you like mystery, crime, thrillers. This is a DEFINITE must read....

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Forbidden, Tabitha Suzuma

BLURB---A shocking, heartbreaking story of taboo romance that’s as compelling as it is controversial.

Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As de facto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: A love this devastating has no happy ending.

This book.....this bloody book. Editing now three days later....still destroyed.
This is just gonna be a rambling gushing review. Actually more like a post-book analysis than a review.

I wasn't expecting this at all.
When I picked up this book looking at the reviews and status updates I assumed it was just about an incestuous relationship and that was going to be it. So I thought it would just be squicky and twisted.
I just didn't read it as this at all, I could not have cared less about the incest. Literally could not have cared less at all. In fact, it just added to how devastated I was for them.

The relationship between Maya and Lochan was not a seedy dirty thing, it was a survival co-dependent thing. Oh god....I'm reviewing this far too soon after reading. I was not at all comfortable reading it and I did wish they would find a better way to cope, but I get it. Completely and utterly 100%.
I think they were aware that is was due to their upbringing, they both question this then slam down that thought, because who wants to admit that they are fucked up so much that it is making them do these things? It is only with hindsight that they start to question how long they have felt like this. It was never a forgone conclusion when they were younger that they would be together. But I think it was easier for them to think it's because they were meant to be together, they both get incredibly angry when the other dares to question the reasons for their love.
They spent their whole lives playing "Mum and Dad" so they gave each other security....when their mother started becoming even worse (the fucking bitch...good god, I hated that woman)and they needed each other more did this path become the one they took, they were each others only happiness and stability in an otherwise awful chaotic situation. It stops so many feelings of self-loathing I suppose. To be aware that you have been abandoned by both falling for the person who knows you so well is the ultimate reassurance that you are lovable. It seems to, not make sense, but I can certainly see the logic in it...I think. I wildly disagree....But I do get it.

Lochan is this book for me, Lochan- this man has possibly just become my favourite character of all time ever ever ever. Never before have I died inside so much for somebody. God I ached for him. He was always swimming against the tide.....drowning. Poor poor poooooooor Lochie. I think once I have had a bit more time to process.....I'll add more. But for now, all I can say is I love him.

Maya, so intelligent. Loved her too, I felt awful for her at the end. I momentarily forgot about Lochie and just had to feel for Maya. 

The writing of this book is some of the best I have ever read. It just cut right through me. You know when you read, and it feels like it's pinpointing an exact place in your mind? Like it just slices through and touches you. Oh fuck...this book!!!! If you haven't read it you need to.
I want to randomly mention the's some of the most intense kissing ever. Heavy with so much emotion, I kiss my guy everyday and I feel like I'm not honoring the emotion behind the act after reading about these two. I'm being too flippant with my love! Never before has a KISS shown such intensity, emotion and desperation. Oh god this boooooooooooooooook. Life changing kinds of awesome.

Spoilers now....If you haven't read please don't spoil!! 

I had a feeling quite early on that the way Lochan was behaving could only really point to suicide as an ending....I didn't think it would be this way though, I thought because of his behaviour throughout the book he would have done it sooner rather than a big event push him into it. The way he just descended and spiraled....So it surprised me that he actually had the strength he did. 

I'll probably change this review in a bit. But I needed to....I don't know honor the book by writing something immediately. 
Gonna go cry some more now.

Sunday, April 7, 2013

The Collector, Victoria Scott


BLURB----Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence has made him one of Hell’s best — a soul collector. His job is simple, weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal opportunity collector and doesn’t want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment: Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within 10 days.

Dante doesn’t know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of Hell. But after Dante meets the quirky, Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect—he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector, and uncover emotions long ago buried.

Oh Dante Walker, how I love you. 

This book was sooooo what I needed right now, I've had an extra awful few days (read effing mother effing eff bag terrible) and this much was much appreciated by my poor little brain. 
Don't you love how a book can do that? Turn you from a broken fragile mess into someone going SEEEEEEE look at all the NICE in the world....Don't wallow. So it was a wonderful pick me up.....Anyway, enough of my little blahhh moment, onto the book. Excited chatty review coming now......

Dante walker is a soul collector for the Boss Man (Devil, get it) basically what that means is he roams earth waiting for "sin" to happen so he can "seal" that sin onto the person's soul for good. Once the person is completely "sealed" there soul goes to Boss Man. Boss Man has a plan- the naughty Devil he is- to target an innocent soul. So we meet Charlie, the lovely sweet and innocent Charlie. Dante worms his way into Charlie's life in order to corrupt her.....

But something weird is going on! Dante is being followed and he doesn't understand Boss Man's reason for wanting Charlie or why he'e being followed......Off we go on our adventure.

Dante is one of my favourite male characters ever when I first started reading it I was worried it may get boring or be a bit too full on with all the sarcasm and snark. But it was brilliantly done.
He was the perfect mixture of naughty evil collector/sweet cute protector (That rhymes! I didn't mean to do that I don't like it, it looks cheesy in my review.....but it is what he is, forgive the crap wording)
Charlie, I liked her even though she was the stereotypical naive innocent girl. She was still lovely. 
Even the secondary Characters; Annabelle, Blue, Max and Red were all great fun to read. Especially Annabelle, I loved her.
Everyone was so detailed, it really was a good book.

This was a totally different read to what I'm used to, I feel clean! No sex, drugs, gore, violence anything like that. And I wasn't bored at all. So thank you book for teaching me I can enjoy YA and not get annoyed. I have probably read a handful of YA books and I find myself wishing it was more adult and not kiddy-ish. But I didn't mind reading about teen's going to a dance, or being worried about clothes and stuff at all.

The angel/demon stuff was interesting too. If you don't like that kind of thing (I don't) I would still say give it a chance, the driving force of the book is Dante. Not necessarily Dante the demon, soul collector.
It's such a funny cute book that you can overlook many little things regarding plot and such. With this kind of book you knew where it was going after a few pages but not once did I care even slightly, it was still wonderful watching Dante....not changejust.....I don't know....become unstuck maybe?
So much happens, so even though you kind of know what your end-game will be there are still a few curve-balls coming. 

Wonderful easy on the brain laugh out loud book, go get it! Want number 2 now.

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

The Asylum, Johan Theorin

BLURB----A chilling Swedish psychological crime novel set between a nursery and a mental asylum, full of sinister intentions, hidden identities and dangerous secrets.

3 stars definitely, even if I forget it's a translation I still had issues with the book as a a whole.
If I were reviewing this at about 80% it would have been a completely different review. BUT the way it ended changed everything.

To be fair I couldn't picture a nice neat ending so I was prepared for something not to be thoroughly explored because of all the little threads and tangents. I just.....I mean, book! Really! Everything I had invested in became undone and redundant. Nothing annoys me more than thinking that it was all for nothing.

But before I go a'spoilin I'll talk more generally.

Plot - The story follows Jan, Jan has a "past" which we don't know much about. We just know he appears a bit shady and is obsessed with a singer called Alice Rami. 
Jan applies for a job in a day care center attached to the asylum- nicknamed St Psycho's. Things are slowly revealed about the patients/staff and Jan's personal history.

Minor spoiler's here.....

I think if we had found out all about Jan earlier I would have like this book so much more, but as it was all I knew was he was a questionable character who was obsessed with a girl and I had no explanation. Literally zero. For me it was a mistake to only give us something to empathize with at around 70%. I couldn't allow myself to connect and root for somebody who for most of the book I believed was going to be a child abuser. I did grow to love Jan by the end so I felt like a lot of time had been wasted not getting to know him. I unnecessarily held the book at arms length.
He was a very interesting character and I understand him so much now. A poor lonely socially inept but mostly nice guy searching for someone to heal him.

I did enjoy it, for me the highlight was from about 65% to maybe 85% every page there was revealing something in three separate parts of Jan's life his past as a teen, his time with Rami and the present at St Psycho's. This was an excellent section as there was a feeling of urgency and I read this part very quickly.Awesomeness!!

A big big point for me was the writing. I KNOW if I could read the original Swedish version the writing would be better. I assume because some words and tenses have no literal translation it is difficult to translate the book completely accurately. It just felt flat, the sentences were too short like: "Jan has arrived. The meter is showing ninety-six kroner. Jan hands a hundred kroner note. 'Keep the change'." So stilted! I just couldn't lost myself in it because the are full stop's everywhere, I won't let this harm my rating though as this is unavoidable I think.


Right so's my issues....plot issues so it's all gonna be one big paragraph containing major spoilers!

Jan spent time in a mental institution himself when he was younger after he was abused by a gang of 4 teens provokes a failed suicide attempt. There he meets Alice Rami. They plan an escape and although Alice succeeds, Jan has sabotaged his own attempt because of his fear of the boys attacking him again.
It turns out the boys were murdered, he believes Alice killed the 4 boys as revenge for hurting Jan. Following this Jan becomes obsessed with her and tracks her down to a different asylum...St Psycho's. This is the reason Jan applies for the job there and after he succeeds he tries to contact her and ask if she would like Jan help her break out.
At the same time this is going on there is a child serial killer in the asylum, one of his victims is the brother of one of the staff. A different member of staff sympathizes with him and wants to break him out. I hope you're following me.
These escapes are planned for the same time. It becomes clear that Jan was never in touch with Rami- she was never there. But only the child-killer, it also is revealed that Rami didn't kill the teens for Jan. So the whole reason Jan became involved in all of this, the only reason Jan "loves" Rami and came to St Psycho's was never true! I'm gonna do the ending in a new spoiler tag because this made me so mad

Ending now.....this was the final nail in the coffin for me....

 The child-killer and employee who wanted to break him out frame Jan for all of the previous murders and then he is killed...HE DIES!!! The killer dies too, but poor JAN DIES TAINTED AS A CHILD KILLER. Pssshhtttt, no no no book! I wanted one good thing to happen to Jan and it never ever did

The reason all of this annoyed me was....
 The whole book is about Jan/his past, unraveling the mystery that is St Psycho's and Jan's infatuation with Rami. For a whole book to be based on this premise only for it to be shattered in in the last chapter and reveal everything that Jan had done was misinterpreted....Jan wasn't a bad guy....Rami was never there...Rami didn't actually seek revenge for Jan...and loads of other stuff. I felt I had wasted my time, it was a brave decision to write this way and I get what the author was trying to achieve. But for me it just ruined it, I spent most of the book wrongly questioning Jan, then I rooted for him only to discover everything was a lie. THEN HE DIES. I had no closure at all.

So after that ending, I was incredibly depressed and felt slightly cheated. Not a bad book but the way it ended had me hollow.

Having said all of this....If you enjoy complex characters, slow burning books, don't mind not having a remotely happy ending, like having a few curve balls thrown at you. This is still a really good read.